London (change)
Today 16°C / 9°C
Tomorrow 15°C / 10°C
15 messages
15/03/2013 at 13:38

Hi,

I am wanting to purchase a heater for my greenhouse 6' x 4' its aluminium and polycarbonate. I'm not really keen on the paraffin heaters as I have a 3 year old son. I have seen online the tubular heaters but are they any good? If so what size would be best?

I'm wanting my grape vine to finally produce grapes this year and just can never get it warm enough thanks to our great British weather!

15/03/2013 at 20:48

I have a small generator and a mate of mine adapted it to work a small tubular heater.

22/03/2013 at 22:09
I also have a greenhouse which I want to heat but am unable to get electricity to it at the moment. I was thinking of buying a paraffin heater. I'm a novice gardener so unsure what to buy, any advice or tips gratefully received. Any cons with a paraffin heater? Also what temp do you usually try to keep the greenhouse at? Are heaters kept on constantly until the warmer weather?
25/03/2013 at 11:59

I really can't believe no one has come up with a suitable "green" solution for greenhouse heating. 

Solar i get, it would only work during the day when the greenhouse is "heated" anyway.

However you'd think you could charge some kind of battery during the day to run a small tubular heater off during the night.

Then again wind would seem the most obvious, if you can get a small wind turbine to run the leccy in a caravan you'd have thought someone would have made one for a greenhouse heater, must be an obvious reason why no one has done this but i don't see it!

25/03/2013 at 12:11

This wouldnt solve your dilemma, but may help. Try putting a layer of bubble wrap in you greenhouse (which is what I did last year), then it retains the heat from the daytime much better than usual. Thats the greenest way I can think of, but may only raise the temperature by 5 degrees or so

25/03/2013 at 12:34