London (change)
Today 15°C / 12°C
Tomorrow 18°C / 12°C
12 messages
19/08/2014 at 20:05

Hi folks.  I'm a strimming novice and would appreciate some tips, please!  I've just used our newish electric strimmer to cut a 30ft square of rough grass & weeds, around 8ins high and rather wet.  (It's the garden of a holiday cottage so I couldn't wait for it to dry, which might have been easier.)  I'm under 5ft tall, which means I have to hold the strimmer shaft, rather than the 2nd handle, with my left hand, because it won't adjust to be short enough for me.  (Or I suppose I could try using stilts...)

My question is this.  Is there a technique for strimming which prevents the grass you've just cut, from lying like a wet blanket on the bit you're just about to cut?  I have in mind the sort of effect you'd get from scything, when (if you know how to do it, which I don't) the grass all falls neatly in one direction. 

Thanks!

19/08/2014 at 20:15

Try walking backwards and all the grass should fall on the bit you have cut.

19/08/2014 at 20:19

As a strimmer is fairly indiscriminate in the way it cuts, I'm not sure that you can get it to behave in the same way as a hand held tool where you can "decide" the angle of cut.

As you have discovered, wet grass is a tad more difficult to deal with but when you are limited for time, you have to go with what you can do,

I can only suggest that you do the strimming and then rake up the cut grass pretty smartish.  Better still,  that you have someone else to follow on and do the dirty work ( ie the raking ) after you have done the "technical" bit

This isn't a "professional" solution ( just from my own experience ).....I have no doubt you will receive more suitable advice before long.

19/08/2014 at 20:26