London (change)
Today 25°C / 16°C
Tomorrow 24°C / 16°C
5 messages
27/05/2013 at 12:45

hello

i'm new to all this gardening stuff but am trying it out!!

ive read a few books that all talk about avoiding fertilisers and going organic as you can. then i read things that tell me to feed my plants and i see things labelled 'plant food' or 'tomato food' or potato food on the shelves. whats the difference?

and has anyone made plant food? i read about for example filling up empty milk bottles and using them water plants, the milky water is like a type of plant food- is there any truth in this??

27/05/2013 at 12:52

You can use cold,  diluted coffee and tea to water plants, as well as the water you boiled vegetables in. People make fertiliser from nettles, too. Here's a link.

http://www.nettles.org.uk/nettles/activities/nettlemanure.asp

I may be wrong, but I think it is upasteurised milk that makes a good fertiliser. Either fertiliser will be pretty smelly.

The main elements of fertiliser are nitrogen, potassium and phosphorus and all plats need all of them, but in slightly different proportions. The proportion betwen them is the basic difference between fertilisers for different plants.

27/05/2013 at 14:11