London (change)
Today 13°C / 4°C
Tomorrow 13°C / 7°C
10 messages
16/10/2013 at 12:47

Hi all 

I am currently a student at Loughborough University in my final year of industrial design and technology. As part of the course we have to investigate and redesign a product.

I have chossen to look into the lawnmower specifically aimed towards an ageing population but am interested in any keen gardeners thoughts and feedback to do with grass cutting as aprt of my research.

How do you prefer to cut your lawn...?

What mower do you use....?

What do you do with the grass cuttings (compost, bin, etc)?

How and where do you store your mower.....?

How often do you cut your lawn....?

Any thing that fustrates you about current lawnmowers/anything you would change...?

Look forward to hearing any feedback or insights you have on the issue.

will be greatly appreciated.

16/10/2013 at 12:54

I only have a very small lawn soprobably not the best feedback but here it is anyway.

How do you prefer to cut your lawn...?    as little as possible?  too small to warrant stripes etc

What mower do you use....?     flymo hover

What do you do with the grass cuttings (compost, bin, etc)?  compost

How and where do you store your mower.....?   shed

How often do you cut your lawn....?  weekly unless being lazy

Any thing that fustrates you about current lawnmowers/anything you would change...?     cuttings box is very small, even on tiny lawn requires empying twice

Hope this helps.

16/10/2013 at 13:11

Many thanks for this feedback.

The emptying issue is something that many people come across, can often make the job of cutting twice as long.

In terms of the flymo do you prefer the hover type to wheel?

Have you experienced problems with its weight before?

thanks

16/10/2013 at 13:20