London (change)
Today 26°C / 17°C
Tomorrow 27°C / 18°C
14 messages
21/07/2012 at 09:17

I'm putting more perrenials in my garden but after winter when I start to inspect my 'plot' I find labels with faded marks and no Idea what the narby plant is. I've tried a number of different 'permanent markers' to no avail, can you help?  Sueing the makers of the product under the Trades Description Act will not help my situation!

21/07/2012 at 09:42

I know exactly what you mean and have reverted to good old pencil which lasts for years.  A softer pencil lead is best to write on plastic labels - look for 2B (standard pencils are HB.)

21/07/2012 at 09:51

I had a similar problem so I now have a notebook and I can at least try to match up the name with the plant

I also use a pencil now, I prefer a 4B

21/07/2012 at 12:36

For the gadget-minded you can use a label-maker, and simply stick the plastic label onto a plant label.. I've been using these for about 18 months, and they seem to be weather resistant....

http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab51/falcosubbuteo/foxglove-seeds1.jpg

OK, if you only want to produce a relatively small number of labels.

21/07/2012 at 13:04

I too use a label-maker; Dymo.  But I do much smaller letters.  Uses far less tape.  Letters come out smaller if you do the printing on two lines.  This is a thrifty tip!

21/07/2012 at 13:32

Never tried a label maker, keep asking Fr Christmas but so far I have obvioulsy not been good enough.  In the meantime, I agree very much with earlier posters, you cannot beat a good soft pencil on either wooden or plastic labels.   However, theat does not help when the blackbirds insist on removing labels and dropping them wherever they think they will!!

21/07/2012 at 14:16