Forum home Tools and techniques
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Petrol lawn mower

Can anyone recommend a particular petrol lawn mower for a medium sized garden lawn? Does it make any difference whether it has a plastic or metal deck? Do makes vary much as there's a huge price range? Thanks.

• Dragon 87Dragon 87 Posts: 18

I'm no expert ..

Totally depends on your needs/budget /lawn size ?? etc

As a rule of thumb anything over 2000m2  really needs a ride-on (or half a days mowing)

Maintenance will make the difference, if you can spend a little more ?

My ride on is about 10 yrs old  but  needed new valves & Carburetor !  Now running nicely !  ( Always fingers crossed )

The engine is a Briggs & stratton ,so parts & longevity is now proven !

Most mowers are made up from different parts,  & from different manufactures !!

The choice is yours !  Hp rating for engine suggestion about 4 hp

Happy shopping /take your time & SHOP AROUND !image

• DaintinessDaintiness Posts: 988

I agree with Dragon 87 - do you want stripes? do you want a bowling green? My patch is uneven in places and I went for mower with no roller, with a pull string start - as a  woman sometimes I don't have enough oomph to start it and feel next time I'll pay the extra for a push button start. I went for a mower that has 4 different heights as different parts of my garden serve different purposes.