Forum home Tools and techniques
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Planting Lawn From Seed

Hi,

In the next week or two i'll be sowing a lawn from seed.

I've never done this before, so could do with some advice.

So far, i've completely cleared the area of weeds and stones. It's now down to mud- mostly quite hard packed.

The soil doesn't look like rich, fertile 'growing' kind of soil and i expect it will need topsoil. I read that soil needs to be tested for PH before sowing a lawn from seed., so once i know the PH level i'll update.

I've looked on www.rolawn.co.uk and seen that they sell a Turf and Lawn Seeding Topsoil. It's very expensive at £117 for 0.73m³, and my lawn area is around 25 metres squared.

So, assuming that the PH level is no good, i expect that i'll need topsoil:

If so, then how much will i need for an area of 25 metres squared- how deep does the layer of topsoil need to be?

Do I need to buy the expensive stuff such as what's sold by www.rolawn.co.uk? Or can anyone suggest a cheaper alternative?

How deep would be topsoil layer need to be?

I've ordered a rotavator for this weekend, i was planning on tilling 4 inches or so of the existing soil with the rotavator and then adding topsoil on top before treading down and sowing grass seed. Does this sound about right, or would it be better to lay the topsoil and then rotavate the two soils together to mix them?

I have read a lot about how important proper soil preparation is before sowing a lawn, so could really do with some advice.

Thanks in advance..

• Dave MorganDave Morgan Posts: 3,123

You could do with digging a test hole to see how compacted the soil is before adding top soil.

If it's badly compacted dumping topsoil on top will leave you with a solid pan underneath which will just hold water and you will be throwing money down the drain.