London (change)
Wed 25°C / 16°C
Tomorrow 24°C / 16°C
11 messages
11/07/2012 at 09:35

I have a Cotoneaster Horizontalis which is currently taking over my front garden.Does anyone know when I can prune it and how? It's in a corner and underneath (creeping in front) of our lounge window.

I'm a gardening novice so a 'gardening for dummies' type reply would be appreciated.Many thanks!

11/07/2012 at 09:43

I had one of these taking over my garden and the pavement too when I moved into my present house.   I hacked it back regularly at any time of the year when it just needed it.   But here is the offical RHS advice from one of their books : "prune formal hedges and wall-trained plants back to the fading flowers or nearest berry cluster in mid- or late summer.   Trim again lightly in early autumn if fresh growth obscures fruit display."   I might just say, mine was too vigorous to just prune lightly, and I found it rooted in everywhere it touched the ground.    In the end, for the sake of people walking past the house, I dug it up.

11/07/2012 at 15:15
I have recently cut mine back to stop it taking over. It never seems to do any harm, and I tend to chop it back on a regular basis. Still get lots of flowers which the insects love and berries later on.
11/07/2012 at 15:18

Mine doesn't seem to resent some fairly drastic chopping. I tend to do it when I feel like it as there as so many flowers and berries that the wildlife doesn't miss out.

11/07/2012 at 15:33

Thanks everyone

I'll give it a trim.  It doesn't sound like I can do too much damage.

Just need the rain to stop!

11/07/2012 at 16:20