London (change)
Today 14°C / 8°C
Tomorrow 13°C / 11°C
1 to 20 of 21 messages
22/02/2014 at 10:58

We have a paddock out the back, but no animals to eat it, and therefore it has gone to pot a bit - covered in docks, nettles, cow parsley etc.  My husband, some years ago, hired a mini digger to scoop off the top layer of part of it, which we then raked and re-seeded to form a sort of pitch of better quality grass which we now mow and keep in order.  Since then, access difficulties mean we can't get a digger in, but I am keen to repell the army of weeds and extend the 'tame' area.  I am wondering if a rotavator would do the job - the problem is that the ground is full of bits of sandstone, about the size of the human fist, which I keep pulling out and disposing of.  Would they keep snaring the rotavator up, or would a heavy duty one be able to cope with them.  I have never used a rotavator before and don't want to hire one only to find it can't cope.  Thanks in advance for any words of wisdom. 

22/02/2014 at 11:04

I think it would chew up the weed roots and spread them about even more. What are your plans for the paddock?. Are you looking for clear ground or  mown grass?

22/02/2014 at 11:12

In the short term, mown grass.  The weeds come up through the tamed bit, (along with the moles!) but because we mow it and put weed and feed on it in the summer, they don't get a foothold.  In the long term, I might cultivate more of it, but in the short term, if I can just get it to mowable quality, that will be something.  All the gardening here has been an ongoing conquest that started at the house and is moving down the paddock!

22/02/2014 at 11:24

If it's flat, mow it. It will do away with stinging nettles, they don't like being mowed.

I've mad a lot of 'lawns' over time just by mowing what's there.

I wouldn't be weeding and feeding. I don't like the weed part. I might spot kill any nuisance plants with a bit of glyphosate.

22/02/2014 at 11:24