London (change)
Today 15°C / 12°C
Tomorrow 18°C / 12°C
9 messages
10/03/2014 at 15:05

I have an external pipe going from my first floor to a soak-away in the garden to get rid of the condensate from my central heating boiler.

Is it a good idea to buy a water butt and redirect this condensate water to save it for the garden?

10/03/2014 at 16:22

sounds a good Idea anything that saves water .

10/03/2014 at 16:56

Can think of no reason why not - but I'm no water expert - but offhand it seems a good idea. It will be particularly clean I imagine, and thus very good for seedlings which tend to damp off with the bugs that can gather in rain water if left for a while.  Keep it all covered, and I imagine you are on to a winner. 

10/03/2014 at 17:14

Erica..............I can understand your desire to save water......my supply is metered so I am always after water saving ideas too

However, I'd avoid using the condensate for the garden........as it is produced from the flue gases, it can be acidic..........so could be like putting vinegar on the garden.

It is usually recommended that the condensate goes to a soakaway ( as yours does ) and not even into a grey water system.

11/03/2014 at 08:42

I've not heard the suggestion about condensate water going to a soakaway before.  Very few people will have access to one.  I can see the logic, just don't see it as a practical option for most people.

11/03/2014 at 22:27

Well, I have read up on a couple of sites about this, and indeed I was incorrect and answered without finding out - for which I apologise.  There seems to be a variety of opinions as to how acidic this condensate can be, some saying it is only a little bit and others saying it can be corrosive.  It seems that the overall opinion is to use the soak away and not use it in the garden - unless you find out further. 

14/03/2014 at 13:16