London (change)
Today 27°C / 18°C
Tomorrow 27°C / 17°C
9 messages
07/11/2013 at 11:21

Hi, I'm currently a design student at Staffordshire University and am working on my final major project. I am working towards designing a product that allows people with limited or small garden space to grow there own produce. Looking at the concept of vertical farming I want to design something small scale allowing people to use something such as there house wall to grow produce upwards rather than along there garden floor. I wondered if anyone had any thoughts on this to help me with my research or anything you think I need to consider when designing such as the growing itself seeing as I dont have much insight in this at the moment. 

Thanks, George.

07/11/2013 at 11:46

Look on Google, there are various types of growing bags for that. One problem is watering, keeping it moist and it mustn't cause dampness on house walls.

07/11/2013 at 12:16

Things you'll have to factor:  How you will get to your plants.   How to water your plants and keep them irrigated (could you use rainwater from the gutters, or pump it?).  How to avoid damaging the property with water ingress, or heavy loads.  And the aspect of the wall will play a part in your planting.

Note that vertical training of plants/trees such as espaliers has been around for a long time.  And some people grow in hanging baskets, and some people plant their tomatoes upside down.

I'd be interesting in hearing planting choices?  What are you thinking of planting: salads?

Vertical planting is becoming more popular, I've mostly seen succulents. Search for 'vertical planting succulents'.  Even growing somethnig like ivy can act as an insulator for a building.  Also note that walls can provide some heat retention.