Forum home Tools and techniques
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

watering (i'm new to gardening)

we have a small London zone 2 garden. it was concrete when we moved in and we worked VERY hard last year to turn it into a small square lawn bordered on two sides by narrow (2') borders.

ive realised I have no idea how often to water! if something wilts then yes obviously, but I mean watering for maximum health and growth

if it doesnt rain, after how many days do I need to water? how much? how often?!

it's been dry for a good week here and the lawn is alredy yellowing...

any advice greatfully received (I feel quite a fool for needing to ask!)

• nutcutletnutcutlet Posts: 27,445

depends what you're growing jack. I never water the garden except for newly planted things. I don't grow anything that can't cope with that.

In the sticks near Peterborough