London (change)
Today 20°C / 14°C
Tomorrow 19°C / 13°C
19 messages
19/08/2013 at 14:15

Hello all

I'm new to gardening and have a lot to learn.  I'm inclined to prefer wildflowers and pollinators in a wildlife-friendly garden space.

I want to sow seeds for planting out but don't know what time of year to do it, what compost to use, techniques etc!  I've got lots of seeds bought, and the foxglove camelot rose packet says to start sowing indoors but other sites tell me differently.  I also have verbena, echinacea, stocks to sow. 

I also need advice on what compost is best to use, and should I use a vermiculite, grit, etc..

Any advice or tips for best sowing results or Do's and Don'ts for a novice but enthusiastic gardener would be really welcomed!

Thank you.

19/08/2013 at 22:17

Hi Sean. Gardeners generally reckon to sow foxglove seeds when the current foxgloves are in flower.  In nature foxgloves have to flower, make seed, then wait for it to ripen before sowing their own seed. Mine are doing that now so I think you could.

The others you mention I'd keep til spring

However there are a lot of plants, especially wild plants, that benefit from autumn  sowing, for some it's essential. what else have you got?

20/08/2013 at 16:46

Thanks nutcutlet

Great advice about the foxgloves, thank you.

I've also got a meadow mix and some teasel seeds - any tips when to sow?  I've got a moderate grass/flower meadow which I've been advised to cut right back - should I sow my wildflower seeds there after the cutting?

Also, could I ask one more thing please?  I don't have a greenhouse, but I imagine it's OK to keep seedlings etc outside until it gets very cold?  I've read that you shouldn't leave them in direct sunlight.  I've bought some plastic propagator trays with clear lids, and cell trays too.

I really appreciate you taking the time to help me out!

Many thanks,

Sean

20/08/2013 at 18:07