London (change)
Today 26°C / 16°C
Tomorrow 24°C / 16°C
17 messages
16/07/2013 at 22:37

I am new to gardening but as a lover of wildlife i would like my new garden to be a haven for animals, could anyone tell me what trees or shrubs could attract birds such as such as blue tits 

thank you

16/07/2013 at 22:41

blue tits like to eat caterpillars, spiders and greenfly so just don't spray anything with chemicals or be too tidy!

16/07/2013 at 22:43

thanks for the advice

17/07/2013 at 06:50

We've had bluetits nesting in our garden this year - they've been hopping around in our perennials, honeysuckles, roses  and clematis looking for aphids and I think they've found them all - we've certainly not seen many greenfly or blackfly

17/07/2013 at 08:24

ah thats great been up early this morning building a bird box with the little one, shes loving it and hopefully see some birds soon 

17/07/2013 at 08:54

Hi richi - here's a direct link to a pdf which has lists of wildlife friendly plants:

http://publications.naturalengland.org.uk/file/84053

17/07/2013 at 08:57

Thanks il have a browse through it now

17/07/2013 at 11:57

If you have room forr some small trees :  Amelanchier Lamarkii or canadensis (not native )but good blossom; fruits the bairds eat in July; and great atumn foliage.

Small crab apples are great eg Golden Hornet

I grow redcurrant bushes and raspberries just for the birds ; good for poliinators as well.

17/07/2013 at 14:24

thanks again for more great advice, i have a pretty large open space garden to work with so going to start filling some of that space

18/07/2013 at 06:43

Siting your birdbox is important - lots of advice here http://www.rspb.org.uk/advice/helpingbirds/nestboxes/smallbirds/siting.aspx 

It is really important that the box isn't in full sun as a box-full of baked nestlings is very sad.

18/07/2013 at 07:59