Start a new thread

1 to 20 of 26 replies

We've just dug up an overcrowded border & are now looking to plant new bee & butterfly friendly plants, be it shrubs, climbers, flowers etc.

I'm a novice at gardening so not too sure on what plants to plant. The border is approximately 5.2m long & 1m wide & is south facing so gets a lot of sunlight all year round.

There is a wall about 2m high at the rear of the border which we have fixed trellis across the top half.

Any help would be most grateful!!!

Grannys Bonnet

When I started planning my new borders I wanted to make them wildlife/bee friendly as well. There is a great variety available both in seed and plant form and nearly all of the major online suppliers mark their products so you will be able to spot them when you look and find out if they are suitable for your soil etc. A few of the ones that I like flower wise and perennial wise are:

Alyssum saxatile 'Gold Dust'
Campanula Clips
Dianthus 'Rainbow Loveliness'  

Foxgloves - any colour

Lupins - any colour

Aquilegias

Lavender 'Munstead Dwarf'

I'm sure the more knowledgeable plants people on here will be able to suggest many more but it's a few to get you started.

If you have room, Abertawescott, plant a few buddleias ( I think they're now called 'buddlja' in some catalogues )  - it's not known as the 'Butterfly Bush' for nothing!  Lots to choose from, easy shrubs, do well in full sun or partial shade.  Bees seem to prefer purple shades, and so do butterflies!

Verbena bonariensis - also mauve/purple - again, bees and butterflies love these.  It's not hardy for me in the NE, but may be further south.  Tall and airy, lovely plant.

Lavender, yes, as Grannys Bonnet recommends above.  And the aquilegias ( easy from seed, even now, although they may not flower till next year - perennial, lovely ).  Foxgloves, yes, lupins, yes, especially for bees.