London (change)
Today 15°C / 11°C
Tomorrow 15°C / 13°C
1 to 20 of 37 messages
28/07/2012 at 21:28

Hello, I have just moved into a new house in the south east. I have an empty border that gets lots of sun that I would like to turn it into something the bees will love. It would be really helpful as I am new to gardening, if anyone could suggest any shrubs and flowers that will help the bees.

28/07/2012 at 21:30

Anything highly scented-my immediate thought is lavender-virtually trouble free.

29/07/2012 at 00:18

Hi Midget25,

Firstly well done for wanting to do something for the bees and wildlife! You have an amazing adventure in front of you!

I moved house myself about two years ago and have been creating a wildlife friendly garden ever since. Within this last two years I have seen the number of bees, butterflies and all types of other wildlife increase dramatically! I have to say that this is a really rewarding style of gardening.

A wild flower lawn/area is a must if you can fit it in and my top annual wildflower for insects has to be the Corn Marigold in my experience.

In the perennial borders you can't beat Astrantia and Verbenas in my opinion. If you have room then Buddleia is great shrub/small tree, which will attract lots of bees & Butterflies.

I recently posted my top ten plants for bees & insects in my own garden on the RSPB Forum. You can view the list here if it is of interest?:- http://www.rspb.org.uk/community/wildlife/homesforwildlife/f/903/t/82032.aspx

The 'Greenfingers' section on this RSPB Community website has lots about planting for wildlife as does this site if you search for it....

There is also some information about wildlife gardening and wildflowers etc on my blog which again might be of some use or interest to you?

http://higgysgardenproject.blogspot.co.uk/

If there is anything of particular interest chuck me a message via the blog or on here and I'll try and help out if I can?...

Higgy

29/07/2012 at 07:06