London (change)
Today 20°C / 11°C
Tomorrow 18°C / 10°C
10 messages
16/03/2013 at 20:47

I have recently started feeding birds on my balcony. Bluetits, Blackbirds and Thrushes (may be female Blackbirds, I've only seen them from the roadside) at the minute.

I would like to grow some kind of shrub that is suitable for a large container (80ltr. kitchen bin).  If possible it would be evergreen, produce berries and be hardy. I'm also a beginner when it comes to "permanent" plants as I tend to grow mainly annuals due to space. I was looking online and these plants caught my eye but I don't know if any would be suitable? -  Cotoneaster, Viburnum tinus, Pyracantha, Berberis and Sorbus reducta.

Forgot to mention that max height would be 1.5m and spread about the same.

Thanks for any help.

16/03/2013 at 21:08

hi john i have cotoeaster and the birds are always in it and you can trim it if it gets to big,also pyracantha is evergreen and has loads of berries which they love im sure you will do well.

16/03/2013 at 21:34

Cotoneaster every time. Good forbees and birds. Wouldn't want to share a balcony with a pyracantha or a berberis - too painful.

16/03/2013 at 22:52

Cotoneaster is listed as invasive, so if you are in a rural situation its better not to plant, the birds spread the seed. Mountain Ash can be pruned and coppiced, will have berries, and can grow on little soil. Its not evergreen, but the bark is very attractive

17/03/2013 at 10:43

Is the balcony covered.i.e has a roof and therefore shady? If so you could try Sarcocca or Daphne laureola. They both have small fragrant flowers in late Winter/Spring and black berries in the Autumn.

or

If the balcony is very light what about a crab apple grafted onto a dwarf rootstock?

17/03/2013 at 14:16

Wow! Thanks for all the replies.

I was concerned about the invasiveness of Cotoneasters. I live in the city centre so if I go with that it shouldn't be too much of a problem.