London (change)
Today 13°C / 7°C
Tomorrow 13°C / 9°C
12 messages
13/10/2012 at 17:12

Thanks to Gary Hobson, yesterday's problem I had with a squirrel in my garden has been sorted.  However, is there any solution to deer eating crops?  I'm a volunteer at school garden and deer are now visiting and destroying the crops.  We are in a rural area in West Sussex and barricades are out of the question. This year they have eaten carrots, beetroot, runner beans, strawberries, raspberries and peas.  Is there any organic type pest control on the market?  It would have to be organic because of the children.

13/10/2012 at 17:23

You can get deer deterrents- they're sold on Amazon and elsewhere - they're battery powered and when the sensor is triggered they make a noise and turn on a light - reviews are mixed - some people swear by them, but others find they're not so helpful.  I've no experience  of them myself - my farming brother got lion dung from a zoo - that worked for a while.

13/10/2012 at 17:43

If you put 'deer' in the search box at the very top of the page, you'll find numerous threads where a similar question has been asked.

On this thread:
http://www.gardenersworld.com/forum/problem-solving/hungry-deer-2/1933.html

two people said that they had tried Grazers spray, and found it successful. However, that is sprayed on the plants, and makes them taste unpleasant to the deer. I wouldn't like to eat any vegetables that had been sprayed.

Chili powder might be worth trying. You could have some sacrificial crops dusted with chili, for the deer. Hoping that once the deer have tasted them, they don't get onto the undusted crops.

Some people say that wire netting, laid flat on the ground, creates a barrier that deer do like to step on.