London (change)
Today 13°C / 10°C
Tomorrow 12°C / 9°C
1 to 20 of 32 messages
Edd
02/03/2014 at 16:21

After another request i will start this thread about growing mealworms.    It may sound strange, but I really enjoy raising mealworms. I have been growing worms for many years. Recently, I got my best crop so far.I wanted to tell you about my success and, hopefully, encourage others to give worm farming a try.    I found that raising worms in clear plastic tubs filled with bran works well. I buy my bran cheap from foodstore.  I like the tubs from Wilko because they are very clear, have a good depth and a lid 16Lts.( i started with smaller ) The other necessary supplies are mealworms, potatoes, carrots, apples, and yams.

http://s3.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/38681.jpg?width=350

To begin your own farm, you will need to get some live worms. You just need to find someone with a mealworm farm or try pet shops. Next, fill your tub with about six to eight inches of bran.( i did start with only a few inches )

http://s3.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/38682.jpg?width=350

After your farm is prepared, it is time to add the food. The worms will get their nutrition and hydration from the fruits and veggies that you provide. Their main diet needs to begin with raw potatoes sliced in half. This is where they will feed and turn into pupae. The potatoes need to be placed, cut side down, on top of the bran.

http://s3.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/38683.jpg?width=350