London (change)
Today 13°C / 11°C
Tomorrow 15°C / 14°C
19 messages
24/02/2014 at 12:06

Hi there.

I am completely new to gardening and moved into our new/old house in Oct. We noticed the odd ladybird but nothing worth writing about.

In the last two weeks there has been a significant increase in the amount of ladybird activity in out house. I've researched them online and found out they are the Harlequin ladybird which are invading our homes and our own native ladybird. Me and my 2 year old have woken in the morning with the odd bite mark and I have a new baby due in 4 weeks. In the last two weeks, I have tried to seal as many crevices in my bedroom as possible but I'm not sure if they are coming or trying to leave as the weather is getting warmer! 

The garden needs an overhaul as it was neglected. It has many plants including a few rose bushes and a couple of apple trees, situated near the house. If I were to get rid of these, would I decrease the aphids and then the ladybird population as I hear aphids are what they feed on?

Please, any help would be welcome!

Mary

24/02/2014 at 12:58

Hi Mary

1. don't panic, they're not dangerous even if they bite

2. lets see a photo to be sure

3 on a warm day open the windows and let them out

4 aphids are part of nature, getting rid of a plant won't change that

24/02/2014 at 13:18

Mary. From what I've just been reading they like to hibernate in the house so by sealing up the cracks you're most likely preventing them from escaping. Could you leave windows open when we have warmer days to encourage them to get out promptly? Once Spring hits proper and they're all outside one would imagine you wouldn't find them a problem any more.

I hope baby no. 2 arrives safely x

24/02/2014 at 17:34
We get loads in the house too - they like to overwinter in the cracks between the windows and their frames. I content myself with the fact they will be aphid munching soon - and at least they don't make cobwebs !!
24/02/2014 at 18:39