London (change)
Today 13°C / 8°C
Tomorrow 14°C / 9°C
12 messages
31/08/2012 at 21:30

i have already posted this on thread 'Brambles' however I do need help.

When clearing an area of garden to prepare a rhubarb bed I moved some builders blue plastic sheet and, as well as a couple of large slugs, found 4, maybe 6, newts underneath it. As they will need to be rehomed I need to know how to attempt this and the best area to put them in. There is no water in the garden or in neighbouring ones. I am a novice with this sort of creature

31/08/2012 at 21:36

They like it cool and damp and undisturbed - that's why they were under the builder's bag. If you have a shed you could put them under that and even leave the bulider's bag under it too. If you have a wild area or an untidy area (maybe where you have a compost bin) you could put them there. They will move on if they don't like it but they are useful in the garden. They hibernate under old paving stones in an undisturbed area of my garden.

31/08/2012 at 21:58

Hello bjay, what a fantastic find. I don't know much about newts. I do know that there numbers have been decreasing.Good for you that you want to do the right thing I also know that amphibians are extremely inportant in the food chain.

I had a quick look and it would seem that all the UK species are protected by law- the Wildlife & Countryside Act 1981.

wildlifegardener.co.uk- gives some really good advice and a place for you to start. I am sure that some some local wildlife groups would be of help.

If it were me I would cover them back over until I worked out how they could be moved.

31/08/2012 at 22:23
WOW!!! I WISH I WAS THAT LUCKY, I KNOW NOTHING ABOUT NEWTS,HE PLENTY OF FROGS,SO LIKE YOU , I SHALL BE FOLLOWING THIS THREAD WITH GREAT INTEREST.
01/09/2012 at 07:07