London (change)
Today 21°C / 15°C
Tomorrow 16°C / 13°C
1 to 20 of 66 messages
19/02/2013 at 16:41

I need some help, i have been considering a wildlife pond for several years but never had the guts until now. There is a area in my garden which i don't like very much so i have decided that's where my pond will go. Its under a tree it does get a little sun, i have posted pictures..please can you let me know if the location is ideal and if not are there any suggestions on what i could do with this area.

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/18786.jpg?width=518&height=350&mode=max

19/02/2013 at 19:06

Well,I would not of put it by a tree because come autumn the leaves go in the pond and stagnates the water unless you put a net over it.It must not have to much sun or a good filter is some times good but I do not use one.Make sure you leave a lip for frogs and toads to be able to climb out and plant oxygenating plants and marginal plants but not to many and with water lilies buy a small leaved one as a bigger variety will take over the pond .Do not have fish if you wish to have wild life in your pond.

19/02/2013 at 19:27

A small wildlife pond was put in here a couple of years ago, I placed it in exactly the wrong the place, under 2 mature beech trees and the leaves are a bit of menance, I either net it or scoop them out. I'm not too fussy so at times it looks more like a natural ditch. I have seen toads in there, which I'm very pleased about.

Yes a sloping edge or place rocks/stones so that any animals can find their way out. I've got some marginal grass like plants but haven't bothered with any others as the surface area of mine is very small.

19/02/2013 at 20:11

a sunny site will give you more chance of dragonflies etc laying their eggs in your pond. Insects like sun and warmth

20/02/2013 at 08:16

I don't think you should worry too much about leaves. Leaves blow around, so even if you put the pond to one side, leaves will still collect in it.