London (change)
Today 11°C / 3°C
Tomorrow 7°C / 3°C
11 messages
30/05/2013 at 19:48

Hello everyone, This is my first year of growing a wild flower and meadow piece of land approx 30ft wide and 28ft in length ending up with a pond at the triangle point.  I know it is to soon to cut, but does anyone know what I do with it, when winter comes, do I need to cut it to a certain length or leave it alone. Any help is appreciated

30/05/2013 at 20:56

what flowers arein the meadow Lynda? when do they flower?

31/05/2013 at 15:23

I know for sure that I have ox eye daisies, various grasses, cornflower, buttercups, cowslip, cow parsley, foxgloves, but I am not good at naming the other plants, one looks similar to a sweet pea, frond leaves and climbs it has small light purple flowers going up the stem, very pretty, Another one looks like nettle leaves but are softer furry, this also produces a very small purple flower. The seeds I brought last year were called meadow mix for clay soil which also contained wild flowers. Now the weather is improving I hope that I will see what other plants growing in the ground.

31/05/2013 at 15:28

Hi Nutcutlet, just to add, as this is the first year, I have no idea when they will finish flowering, I presume sometime at the end of July August? when they have all seeded.

31/05/2013 at 16:28

Wildflower meadows are ususally cut in July and the cuttings are then left for a few days to shed any seed before being raked up and composted or made into hay - depending on size and use.

If you rake the cuttings up too soon you'll get no new seed for next year's display and if you leave them too long they'll feed the soil and encourage grasses to grw at the expense of the wildflowers.

The RHS offers this advice - http://apps.rhs.org.uk/advicesearch/Profile.aspx?pid=446

31/05/2013 at 16:48

Thank you I will watch this year to see when the last flower is out, this should give me a good idea when to cut the meadow. Thank you for your help