6 messages
22/02/2014 at 11:46

Hi,

newb

We live in a clay-soil region which means water cannot easily drain away, so I was wondering if a wildlife patch in our garden should begin with a raised 'rockery' area to allow rain water to filter away?

There is a reasonable size garden and we initially want to devote about 10 square metres of it to wildflowers. This patch runs up to a small tree (Acer) on earth with the border of a lawn at its front edge, so the flower garden could run on into a meadow flora arrangement?

But standing water is often a problem, so I thought about founding the wildlife patch on rubble or an elevated region.

Any thoughts please?

Many thanks!

Ric

22/02/2014 at 20:24

I'll bump you up, plenty of wildlife gardeners here.

23/02/2014 at 07:50

I'm no expert, but I'm sure raising the soil above neighbouring areas would help with drainage. The main way it's recommended to improve clay soil is by digging in organic matter, eg compost, manure, coir etc.

We're on heavy clay, but we're quite lucky to be on a slight incline. We started improving the soil using bags of manure and soil improver from the garden centre just over a year ago and are seeing a big difference in the quality of soil already.

You could always work with it and create a bog garden, plenty of wildflowers like marsh marigold enjoy damp conditions. What sort of wildlife are you hoping to attract? I found it so rewarding last year watching the bees, butterflies and hoverflies on our plants where before there had been gravel, grasses and paving.

23/02/2014 at 07:56
bookmonster wrote (see)

.... You could always work with it and create a bog garden, plenty of wildflowers like marsh marigold enjoy damp conditions. What sort of wildlife are you hoping to attract? I found it so rewarding last year watching the bees, butterflies and hoverflies on our plants where before there had been gravel, grasses and paving.