London (change)
Today 22°C / 15°C
Tomorrow 21°C / 15°C
1 to 20 of 51 messages
23/12/2012 at 14:51

I have been asked to do a workshop on companion planting for veg at my garden pproject can anyone help as i feel i have limited knowledge HELP 

Thanks Tricia

23/12/2012 at 15:03

Hi Tricia - can't you rope in someone to help who knows more?

I'll start off with growing nasturtiums to attract blackfly away broad beans

23/12/2012 at 15:43

Growing climbing beans with sweetcorn works well.  These are two of the "three sisters" growing method (google it), the 3rd being squashes.  The beans fix nitrogen with nodules on their roots which helps feed the sweetcorn (which loves any feed with high nitrogen.)  The beans can be trained to grow up a sweetcorn stem and across to others, helping to support them against wind damage, instead of using twine as you normally do when growing sweetcorn in a block.  I normally plant a couple of bean seeds next to each corn plant, once the maize plants are about 30cm tall (if you plant them when the corn is too short, the beans will grow too fast.)

Of course, we need a reasonably sunny summer to grow sweetcorn in the UK - this year was a disaster!

23/12/2012 at 16:16

This is a good site about companion planting http://www.growveg.com/growguides/companion-planting.aspx

I grow french marigolds and nasturstiums in the veg garden.

23/12/2012 at 17:01

companion plants are good way of diverting pests away from main plants.Marigolds,nasturtiums ,garlic e.t.c. do this well especially for vegetables.I planted garlic by my roses to keep black spot at bay and other pests or to distract those insects that go by scent to detect a plant .

23/12/2012 at 18:15

I have a huge poster in my studio that lists all the 'sympathetic' plants and the 'non-sympathetic' plants. Tomorrow in daylight I will try and see who printed it and give you the info.

23/12/2012 at 19:38