London (change)
Today 7°C / 3°C
Tomorrow 8°C / 7°C
1 to 20 of 24 messages
02/09/2013 at 11:45

Anyone interested in growing hot chillies? I live on a small farm in Japan and am considering growing a variety of chillies for the local market. The climate I understand is ideal with long hot summers of plus 30c. 

I have zero experience in farming. Chillies are simply something that interests me and don't seem to be grown locally.

02/09/2013 at 11:58

Your climate does sound ideal. I'm surprised chillies aren't grown locally because there are quite a few native Japanese chillies.

02/09/2013 at 13:24

The standard green/red bell peppers are (called ???????????? - pman) in Japanese. But not habaneros and so on. I've not come across any in this area.

02/09/2013 at 13:48

First of all,What are you doing in japan?, secondly do you speak japanese?.If you want to know about chillies,i would contact Stacey Docherty she is very well gened up on chillies.

02/09/2013 at 14:04

1st - I recently emigrated, my wife and kids are Japanese citizens 

2nd - a bit, studying hard at the Japanese language proficiency test.

I don't know her? I joined the forum a while ago but only came active today.

02/09/2013 at 15:05

Anyway, Japaholic, growing chillies isn't hard. They're grown identically to tomatoes. I don't how much you know about growing chillies but I can give you a quick guide.

First, you're going to have source seed for the varieties you want to grow. You might need to try the internet.

Chillies are usually slow to germinate and take a while to develop to a size ready to plant out either in the ground or in containers. Longer than tomatoes. With toms, you usually allow about 8 weeks from sowing to planting out. Chillies can easily take 12 weeks.

I don't know exactly when it warms up for you, but count back 10-12 weeks from when you get consistent daytime temps in the low-20sC and overnight temps in the teens to calculate a sowing date.