London (change)
Today 14°C / 9°C
Tomorrow 17°C / 10°C
18 messages
22/11/2013 at 13:29

We have a lovely Acer, which we inherited when we bought our house 6 months ago.  It is in a pot. I have no idea when it was last repotted (I suspect never). It is quite tall, so it is probably a few years old.

There are two problems:

1. The root(s) have grown through the pot into the soil beneath.

2. The soil is waterlogged.

However, despite this the acer is going quite well.

Clearly it needs to be repotted. Can I do this now - in November?

I'm concerned the water will freeze and damage the plant if I just leave it.

Should I pull the root out of the ground or cut it?

Please help.

22/11/2013 at 13:37

How much root has grown into the soil below?  I think I'd try to ease the root out of the soil.

I'm not an acer expert, but my instinct says raise the pot off the ground onto little pot feet or even a triangle of bricks to improve drainage, and wrap the pot itself in a few layers of bubble wrap.  

You say the tree is doing quite well and it's obviously survived a few winters where it is.  Apart from raising and lagging the pot I would leave it as is for the moment and repot (using ericaceous compost) in March.

But as I say, I'm not an acer expert - let's see what the others say 

22/11/2013 at 13:50

Hi Dovefromabove, thank you for your response.  

I'm not really sure how much root has grown into the soil. My instinct tells me not to repot at the moment either - but the drainage definitely needs improving. I'll see what others have to say.

22/11/2013 at 15:18

When I bought an acer from a nursery at Tatton flower show, they told me to re pot in November. I used John Innes ericaceous compost with a bit of grit mixed in at the bottom.

22/11/2013 at 18:40