9 messages
01/02/2013 at 14:09
Should I scarify lawn (covered in moss after a wet summer) before applying fertiliser and grass seed or after?
01/02/2013 at 14:17

You need to get the moss out first-use a combined lawn weed,feed and moss killer-then when moss has gone black scarify-then at some point over-sow with grass seed if needed

But you cannot do any of  this when everything starts growing-so not yet

01/02/2013 at 19:00
many thanks for taking the time to answer my question sotongeoff i am a rather old apprentice gardener who has found the pleasures of gardening after working for 53 years
01/02/2013 at 20:16

You are welcome-there are many knowledgeable people on this forum- someone usually comes up with an answer

01/02/2013 at 20:23

Hello Dick.

Often several people come up with several answers and you have to sort out which one you like best. I shan't be offering an opinion on lawns. I just have grass. and moss and clover and plantain and.............. 

01/02/2013 at 23:48

If your lawn is not soaking wet (like mine!) use a moss killer then scarify. It will probably look muddy and awful to begin with. I mix compost with grass seed and scatter it in early spring or in autumn (too late now). Use an organic fertiliser when the grass is coming up well. You can use a 3 in one as Geoff suggests, but where I live it is quite expensive.

02/02/2013 at 20:45
thanks to nutculet and busy lizzie foryour comments the weather in central scotland to day was sunny and quite warm (pity the rugby score wiped the smile from my face ) and i was in the mood to start on the garden but common sense prevailed both your lawns sound familiar withe addition of a 8month old cocker spaniel again many thanks for your advice ps iam also a bit of ammataure with computers
24/03/2013 at 21:58