Forum home Wildlife gardening
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Creating a wildflower garden

Please could anyone tell me how long the following wildflower seeds take to germinate, as I'm new to all this and haven't a clue how long they will take! Many thanks! Foxgloves Oxeye Daisies Cowslips Cow Parsley Field Scabious

• Most seeds take from 1 week to 1 month average germination time given the right condotions (it should say on the packet). I have bought a wildflower collection this year and on the packet it says that sow March to May - then again Aug to Oct, I assume this is due to the fact that some of them need sowing later in the year. It also says sow directly onto the prepared ground where they are to flower but I am woried about them getting eaten by slugs and snails before they get to any reasonable size.  

• Gary HobsonGary Hobson Posts: 1,892
    discodave wrote (see)

... I am woried about them getting eaten by slugs and snails before they get to any reasonable size.  

That's a very sensible point.

I prefer to sow into modules, so I that can see what's happening. It involves a little bit more work, planting out, but is a lot more reliable.

Another issue (that I've experienced) is that many wild flowers, planted in grass, are considered delicacies by deer. If there are deer in your vicinity then you may need to try to combat that problem too.

• Thanks Lyon, I was considering planting them into modules to plant out when they get slightly bigger. Thats just made up my mind.. We dont have any issue with deer. 

• Many thanks to you both for your good advice. As this is a new venture

for me I'm really excited about it (and probably a little too impatient!!) We

don't have deer, but I'm hoping that the wildflower garden will be helpful to

bees, butterflies etc. once it gets going! Unfortunately the firm I bought the