Forum home Fruit & veg
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

More Tomatoes

Sorry to be boring again but the suggestions I have received from my past requests for mid size Toms (eg. like the size of Moneymaker or Aila Craig with flavour!) have made me search further.

I have found a Tomato called `Elisir` which appears to be medium skinned, sweet and used for salads, sandwiches, etc. The pictures however make them look like a cherry variety.

Have any of you grown it? If so, what is the flavour like? I have been growing Toms for 50 years and every year I grow Toms with disappointing flavour I feel I am loosing another year without great success. I do NOT want Cherry or Beef Toms so can anyone help?

• fidgetbonesfidgetbones Posts: 17,617

This might sound like a silly question, bigolob, but do you smoke? Also some medicines can alter your sense of taste. Check the leaflets in the pack.

My dad thought tomatoes had lost their flavour, until he gave up smoking and he got his sense of taste back.

He much prefers yellow sungold these days, sprinkled with salt, followed by gardeners delight.

• We've been growing garden pearl for about 5 years now and they have a good taste. For the first time we've also grown Tigrella and Costoluto genovese. The Tigrella are about the size of satsumas with striping and they taste good, but the Costoluto are a big tomato that are palm sized and are very good sliced in sandwiches and also on top of cheese on toast. They are very tasty and are not very watery.