London (change)
Today 7°C / 2°C
Tomorrow 5°C / 3°C
6 messages
26/01/2014 at 20:41

This is my first year growing much veg.  I have raised beds filled with a mixture of top soil and local authority green waste compost, with some of my own garden compost added in.  Two of the seed packets - Pea Twinkle and Carrot Early Nantes 2 - say that I can sow under cloches in February.  Is this likely to produce decent results or am I better off just waiting a bit?  I'm planning on sowing in batches through the spring.  

I live in southern Scotland, five miles from the sea.  The site is exposed but the beds are behind a deep windbreak.  Our last frost is usually in early May.

Many thanks

Laura

26/01/2014 at 21:54

I'd leave it until March. Too early and the seeds will rot off.

26/01/2014 at 22:00

I'd leave then till March too, the further North you are the later they should be sown. I'm in Lancashire, England and won't' be sowing peas until March at the earliest.   

26/01/2014 at 22:27

Laura, I have sown that early here.....west Cornwall.....but it's not really wise for you up there I think.  I'm much less than a mile from the sea too.  Wait a tad longer but you can put those cloches in position to warm the soil 

26/01/2014 at 22:56

Thanks all - I'll put the cloches on but wait a bit - maybe start some peas on my window sill.

L

05/02/2014 at 17:28