London (change)
Today 22°C / 16°C
Tomorrow 25°C / 15°C
15 messages
05/04/2014 at 14:40

I am on top of the world all my veg has germinated this is my first time to ever to grow veg i have Carrots,Leeks & Cabbage

Carrots.

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/41588.jpg?width=272&height=350&mode=max

Leeks.

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/41589.jpg?width=544&height=350&mode=max

Cabbage.

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/41590.jpg?width=272&height=350&mode=max

Any tips on when to split and plant out would be welcomed i have raised 6ft square foot beds for them to go in.

05/04/2014 at 15:30

The're looking good Mikey and they should all do well in raised beds.

Carrots won't like being moved, I'm afraid; the long taproot is formed very early and will be damaged if you move the plant.  Best to sow them where you want them to grow.  But give it a try by all means.  I should sow some more though, in rows outside.

Leeks and cabbages, on the oher hand, positively benefit from being moved in my experience.

The leeks can stay in their trays till they're a few inches high.  Then harden them off and move them outside, possibly into a nursery bed, or where you want them to stay.  Make a hole a few inches deep with a dibber; trim off excessively long roots with scissors and drop a leek in each hole.  When you've done them all, gently fill each hole with water.  Don't fill in with soil.  This gives them room to expand and makes those tasty white leaf bases. (If you're going via a nursery bed , you only do this rigmarole when you finally put them in their permanent homes!)