London (change)
Today 17°C / 9°C
Tomorrow 16°C / 9°C
12 messages
18/02/2014 at 14:55

I recently just found a turnip under the sink that started sprouting.

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/37722.jpg?width=300&height=350&mode=max

Never grown turnips before, so answers I want are:

Can this turnip be re-planted?

Can I dissect this so i can have five sprouted sections which can be re-planted?

Best time of year to re-plant?

And any other info, I have not thought of.

Edd
18/02/2014 at 15:06

Yes it can be replanted but you will only get turnip greens and then produce new seeds for the next crop. You will need at least two if you want it to seed and they are grown in the same way as seeds.

18/02/2014 at 15:12

thanks Edd, at least I get free seeds for next year.

I take it turnip greens can be eaten? sorry but I am a newbie on turnips.

I read I be able to replant now?

Edd
18/02/2014 at 15:36

Yes you can eat the greens (i have never tried) I prefer brussel sprout tops.

I can't see any reason why you should not plant it out now. What is the worst that can happen? 

I am not sure about dividing it as i have never tried that either but i do think it will work. Give it a go and see. Then let us know what happens. Remember you will need at least two plants to get seed.

18/02/2014 at 16:45

Why not eat it - that's what I'd do.

If I wanted to grow turnips I'd buy some seeds and give them a decent chance. 

18/02/2014 at 16:55

I have no idea how long its been there, did have some mold on there. only found it as I was cleaning up underneath the sink.

Although I have dissected it and does look alright, but my wife fuzzy and won't bare to eat it.

18/02/2014 at 17:03

If it looks and smells all right then it'll be fine to eat, it's not as though it was meat!

Edd
18/02/2014 at 17:06

A bit of mould on the outside would not hurt you after a good wash. I bet you eat eggs and you know where they come from.

18/02/2014 at 17:06