London (change)
Today 18°C / 12°C
Tomorrow 18°C / 12°C
8 messages
15/04/2013 at 23:33

Hi there. I'm a complete novice and am trying to grow a lot of different plants from the same start - a windowsill propogator. I have three propogators and they're the type with numerous small cells. I'm a week into growing tomatoes, cucumbers, chillis, pak choi, peppers, broccoli, lettuce, salad mix, coriander, basil.....

My question is whether everything needs to be thinned down to a single seedling? For some, such as the cucumber which grows thick stems this is obvious. For other things such as basil, pak choi and salad mix, the seedlings grow much thinner and I don't know. With these, should I thin them all to one now, just separate them once I prick them out into larger pots (and risk tangled roots breaking?) or prick them out all together in a clump once they've grown more and pot them on exactly like this?

Many Thanks

16/04/2013 at 07:33

This is one of many areas in gardening for which there is no right answer. Many of us have our own tried and trusted methods which work well for us, but may not be the choice of others who have equally successful methods of their own.

What I do is: once seedlings have developed true leaves I transplant them singly into individual cells or pots. Onse they fill a cell or a pot they are either potted on again into larger pots or direct to the ground.

I do not tend to transplant clumps of seedlings, although for some plants like lobelia I know this method is used.

Good luck.

16/04/2013 at 07:50
For the basil - if you look closely at a supermarket pot of the same, you'll see that it has quite a few separate plants in there. So you could transplant a clump of them into a larger pot.

As for the mixed salad leaves, if you grow them on a 'cut and come again' basis, they too can be grown thickly.

Or you can transplant singly, as Punkdoc suggests. Or you could try both approaches, and see which works best for you.