London (change)
Today 9°C / 9°C
Tomorrow 11°C / 10°C
20 messages
Pdh
06/09/2012 at 07:47
Hi I'm pretty new to gardening so would like a little help please. I have a reasonably large garden mainly lawned but have 2 bordered off sections for flowers etc, this year I planted into them mainly bedding plants,but my trouble is that now (the first week in September) all the plants I planted are dead or very nearly,leaving it looking very dull. Could anyone help by naming plants I could plant to give me colour for longer,or plants to give me all year round colour and interest. Thank you for any help.
06/09/2012 at 08:21
Grasses are great value at this time of the year, some lovely red ones. Heleniums, phlox, echinacea, seems still flowering now.
06/09/2012 at 08:21
Sorry that should stay sedums!
Pdh
06/09/2012 at 08:41
Thank you for your advice, when is the best time to buy and plant?
06/09/2012 at 09:41

If you like strong (gaudy) colours dahlias are a good option. You can buy them in March and they should flower from July to the frosts.

If you want to grow flowers from seed Cosmos are good for late colour, they also do a great white.

I also have some salvias, verbena, gaura, dianthus,zinnias,lobelia cardinalis still flowering. All planted in the spring.

Pdh
06/09/2012 at 10:02
Thank you Kate for all your help
06/09/2012 at 11:49

Japanese anemones are flowering now as are chelone (good for damp soils), physostegia, sedums, phlox and hardy geraniums.    Caryopteris and perovskia are in full blue bloom now, both are small to medium shrubs which get cut back each spring to renew vigour so they don't get too big.   My hemerocallis are still flowering and heleniums, helianthemums and Michaelmas daisies are great for late season colour.

06/09/2012 at 12:00

.... and in addition to all of those, you might like to think about some plants to give colour (and provide nectar for bees) during the Spring, because they may need to be planted now.

Pdh
06/09/2012 at 14:49