London (change)
Today 28°C / 18°C
Tomorrow 26°C / 17°C
9 messages
09/07/2013 at 10:01

http://s3.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/26991.jpg?width=1136&height=350&mode=max

Hi guys, I recently moved into my first home and have started to tackl

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/26990.jpg?width=230&height=350&mode=max

e my small back garden, im after some direction and guidance!

I'm a complete beginner with gardening but have had a fair go myself, it just looks a bit bleak still!

Also I'm looking for something to grow up the back fence and across the top trellis for privacy from nosy neighbours, any tips would be much appreciated!!

thanks!

09/07/2013 at 10:05

Errr that really didnt turn out right! That was posted from my iPhone, sorry! 

The top picture is before bottom is now

09/07/2013 at 10:17

Hey GC. In general, you want fewer things that are larger, rather than loads of differet diddy things. Small scale planting makes spaces seem even smaller. Which bits are sunny and which shady? And is the soil light/heavy/dry/sticky...? Another 4 or 5 things around the place, of the scale of the 2 biggies on fence, would help it feel immediately established, and then leave you freer to fill in the areas between them as and when something takes your fancy. If you look for nurseries local to you, you should be able to get decent sized shrubs/climbers much more cheaply than in garden centres. Start a post asking if anyone knows any good ones local to you.. Gives u somewhere to start. Nursery staff tend to be very knowledgeable too, so can be really helpful, provided u give them the info I asked for..

09/07/2013 at 18:22

Thanks Auntie Betty! 

the garden is north facing but the back border on the back fence gets a lot of sun up to about half of the side border which is shaded by the shed. I beed to plant something which likes shade, maybe ferns?  Can u suggest other plants I should look at

09/07/2013 at 19:00