London (change)
Thu 28°C / 18°C
Tomorrow 27°C / 18°C
8 messages
09/02/2012 at 20:38
I want to make an all rose flower bed. It's a kidney shaped bed (max 5.4 m long x 2m wide) in the middle of a south facing lawn.  Ideally I would like fairly low growing roses, probably pink, easy to care for and with some scent. I'm a complete novice! I would be grateful for any suggestions as to the varites I should use. I'm open to ideas or different colours. Many thanks
09/02/2012 at 23:00

A couple of questions for you. Do you really want a bed in such a prominent position to be bare earth (or mulch) for about half the year? How important is scent, as dwarf rose plants are difficult to smell? Roses as a rule are not so scented that they fiill the air in an open situation. Flower scents are different things to different noses. I and my wife have been round the garden centre at RHS Wisley twice over the last 2 years checking the scent of their plants for our garden and very few modern roses have a strong scent, even when the labelling recommends them for scent, with 1 great exception, "Gertrude Jekyll". This has a super strong scent, is deep pink, a repeat flowerer, but is quite a vigorous grower. Even in full sun you may have a problem keeping in below 4' or so, and 6' is more likely in my experience. Hard pruning each year will help keep it shorter, and don't feed too much. Personally I would grow it amongst herbaceous plants, maybe clove scented pinks round the edges for more scent, and taller herbaceous plants or sping, summer or autumn bulbs amongst the roses. Hope this helps a bit.

10/02/2012 at 07:25

English roses flower for a very long period and smell nice too, but like trillium2cv says it may be an idea to mix them up with other plants to lengthen the period of interest and deter pests.  Some things like alchemilla mollis (ladies mantle) look pretty with roses and will seed themselves around so are very easy to grow. 

15/02/2012 at 11:26