London (change)
Today 15°C / 11°C
Tomorrow 15°C / 13°C
10 messages
28/11/2013 at 14:28

Hi, 

I'm a newbie when it comes to plants. My boyfriend bought me an amaryllis a few months ago, it flowered and since then has grown a lot and looks like it's trying to flower again. It's clearly too big for the pot now and the roots are pretty visible. I'm guessing I need to repot it but unsure of the best way of doing this (I'm incredibly new to all of this!).

There are some photographs below. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks  

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/34670.jpg?width=277&height=350&mode=max

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/34671.jpg?width=555&height=350&mode=max

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/34672.jpg?width=555&height=350&mode=max

28/11/2013 at 16:01

I would repot it after the flower has finished. Amaryllis bulbs only need a pot slightly bigger than the bulb. Feeding it while it is in leaf will keep the bulb big so you will get more flower buds forming.

28/11/2013 at 16:45

Is the top picture as it is now?  If 'yes' then re-pot it as fidget says in a slightly bigger pot and as is trying to grow again start watering it and put it in a warm sunny spot as it likes a sunny position.  When it has finished flowering keep watering and weekly feeding it till the leaves go yellow then let it rest in a cool place.  It will then tell you when it is ready to start all over again.  The leaves can take quite a while to die back.

28/11/2013 at 17:29

Yes, the photos show it as it is currently. Thanks so much for your help! 

28/11/2013 at 17:47