Forum home Plants
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

How & when erisimum & scabious cuttings?

LokelaniLokelani Posts: 112

I'm not very experienced wtih cuttings, could anyone tell me when & describe how to take them from erisimum bowles mauve & scabious butterfly blue?

They're both meant to be hardy but I don't want to take any chances & would like more of them. 

Should I deadhead the stalk off both plants too, to keep them producing more, or should I leave them on & is it worth collecting seed?

Many thanks for any help. 

• sotongeoffsotongeoff Posts: 9,802

Erisimum now-just pull a shoot away from the plant with a bit of a heel attached, trim and pop in some compost-cover with a plastic bag and they root in about 3 weeks-I found they rooted quicker that way than in the normal cutting way

They are completly hardy.

To prolong flowering remove the dying stems.

• kate1123kate1123 Posts: 2,815

For the Erysimum Bowles Mauve, now is the perfect time to take cuttings, find a small shoot on the side of the plant and peel off to make a heel cutting, stick 4 or 5 around the edge of a pot containing gritty compost and water in. 

I dead head my Erysimum regularly and it flowers all summer. You cannot collect seeds from this.

• LokelaniLokelani Posts: 112

Oh excellent, thank you ever so much! That sounds easy enough. I'll deadhead from now on & take lots of cuttings.

Anyone know about the scabious? 

• Hello lokelani,

I've grown Scabious 'Butterfly Blue' from bought seeds. This works well. As it's a perennial it may not flower in the first year, but should do if you sow it early enough. Do also try collecting seeds. However, if you grow from seeds you've collected in your garden, you may get some surprising colours as they may not 'grow true'.

Good luck,

Emma

gardenersworld.com team

• weejennyweejenny Posts: 386