London (change)
Today 22°C / 14°C
Tomorrow 20°C / 16°C
17 messages
05/10/2013 at 16:33

I have a number of pots of oriental lilies.  The flowering stems have all turned brown.  What do I need to do for overwintering? Should I remove the flower stems, should I remove the bulbs from the pots...??

05/10/2013 at 17:03

Your profile says your in the Gloucester area. I would let them die back completely (until the stem comes away without hardly any pulling)

They should be fine left in the pots in Winter in a sheltered area.

05/10/2013 at 18:21

I live in yorkshire and leave mine out in pots and in the garden and they come back

06/10/2013 at 14:24

Hello,

I'm new to the forum so if my question is on the wrong thread - Sorry.

As a rank amateur I need to ask what I need to know to grow Salvia from seed.

I have one of those miniature plastic covered greenhouses which works very well, and I guess this is the best place for the seeds to go through the winter?

Thanks

06/10/2013 at 14:28

Hi Artful Codger,

I don't mind you asking the question here but you'll probably get a better response if you start a new thread for your specific question.

08/10/2013 at 13:28

Last bit of advicer I got about overwintering mine was wait for it to die back and leave it sheltered against a wall or something. First winter for mine so hopefully will go well, they were fantastic this year! 

08/10/2013 at 15:28

I've always left mine in a sheltered spot to die right back as Mattbeer says.  In spring, a  little refreshing of the top 2 inches of compost and a feed or two and they'll be lovely.

09/10/2013 at 19:56

I also try to leave mine in a sheltered spot outside, still in their pots over the winter every year and have done since I started growing them many years ago.

Most of them make it through to the following year unless we get an awful lot of rain. I would advise raising the pots off the ground if you're not leaving them on soil to help them drain.

26/01/2014 at 19:57