London (change)
Today 19°C / 14°C
Tomorrow 21°C / 16°C
1 to 20 of 22 messages
03/10/2013 at 08:45
Hello everybody, I am currently studying my level 3 in horticulture and one of my many units include an investigated project and I have chosen "Should all horticulturalists be qualified and would a trade body help?" I am looking for opinions at this point and would be grately appreciated. Thanks Sam.
03/10/2013 at 09:15

Define horticulturalist

03/10/2013 at 09:16

Hello Sam, I know nothing about horticulture. I'm just a gardener. However, I used to be self employed as a craftsperson. There are two ways that a person can offer a professional service. One is by having acquired a level of skill through college study over a relatively short period of time and one is by having aquired knowledge over a lifetime of trial and error. Clearly, the latter is not the best method as one is then too old to have a viable working life in which to offer one's services.

It would be folly for anyone to sell themselves as a source of professional advice without having a resevoir of professional knowledge themselves. In fact, it would be fraudulent. So yes, I would say that horticulturalists should be qualified.

As to whether a trade body would help, I'm surprised to hear that there isn't a trade body already.

03/10/2013 at 09:23
I think there is a case for varying degrees of training/ qualifications. For example, there have been discussions on the threads here recently about the value of groundsmen having some basic horticultural knowhow ( to stop them scalping shrubs into lollipops when they would be better left to grow a bit)
03/10/2013 at 10:00

Before employing anyone to work in my garden I'd want to see examples of their work and take references, as well as check out any qualifications they claimed to have. Post-qualification experience, character and personal aesthetics are just as important as the qualification.