London (change)
Today 10°C / 10°C
Tomorrow 12°C / 11°C
18 messages
17/08/2012 at 13:20

I'm new to gardening as I only got a house with a garden back in April.

I have an azalea of the Blue Danube Evergreen variety, it's potted as we live in an alkaline soil area.  It's potted in Ericaceous compost, in a pot with a lot of drainage media in the bottom, we only ever water it with rain water (from our butt if it's dry) and during flowering fed it with specific azalea feed (miracle gro).

We don't let it dry out but we don't soak it either.

Just these past few days it has started to go brown and wilt.  I have no idea what is wrong despite extensive googling.

Any assistance gratefully appreciated!

17/08/2012 at 13:28

Have you checked the rootball for signs of pests ?

17/08/2012 at 13:28

How big is the plant and how big is the pot?  Where abouts does it live?  Can you post us a picture of it?

17/08/2012 at 13:53

It's on the patio in my garden which is south facing, currently under a gazebo. 

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/10915.jpg?width=480&height=350&mode=max

My severely autistic son took the middle out, I'm wondering if that's what's killing it?

17/08/2012 at 14:38

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/10916.jpg?width=480&height=350&mode=max

17/08/2012 at 14:53

That looks terminal to me-has anything been sprayed in the area-weedkiller of any sort-the only other thing it might be is vine weevil grub attack -tip out of the pot and look for white grubs

But I'm afraid there is not much hope-I don't think taking the middle out of it would have killed it

17/08/2012 at 15:32

17/08/2012 at 15:32

Definitely not weedkiller, it can't get into our garden.

17/08/2012 at 15:36

Then tip the plant out of its pot-you have nothing to lose

17/08/2012 at 15:37

Just doing it...

17/08/2012 at 15:50

We've tipped it out.  There's no sign of any grubs in there, but we did find these orange spheres?  Not sure if they're anything?