London (change)
Today 22°C / 16°C
Tomorrow 26°C / 16°C
6 messages
03/05/2013 at 20:55

Hi All,

I'm a total novice and am looking for advice regarding wether to buy Common Laurel hedging and also best practice to plant etc, all advice will be gratefully received.

My garden is approx 80 metres long and firstly I'm looking for a hardy fast growing hedge, a hedge that can take the abuse my young boys will doubtless give them.

I have built a retaining wall and would like to know how close I can plant them to the wall and how close together, I propose to buy the hedges at approx 1 metre tall.

Many thanks,

William. 

03/05/2013 at 21:24

A mixed hedge of hawthorn, holly, and quickthorn would be a lot more friendly for the wild life, giving them cover and nesting sites, and a burglar proof barrier for you. Once grown it's fairly low maintenance, once a year with hedge trimmers.

Leylandii grows quickly but you have to keep it under control or you'll have unhappy neighbours.

03/05/2013 at 22:06

Laurel is a big plant. It makes a good hedge but you have to think long term when you plant. You must be able to get at it from both sides to cut. If you use a hedge trimmer you will slice through some of the leaves which will then turn an unsightly brown colour. Best to prune the individual stems, which takes longer but looks better. 80m is a very long hedge. As each plant can grow at least a metre wide you should plant about 80cm apart so that they overlap. Plant far enough away from wall to be able to get behind it, say 1.5m.

An alternative, which will take any amount of abuse is english yew. This is easily trimmed with a hedge trimmer. Plant 60cm apart and again allow room at the back for access....  sorry but all plants grow all around.

04/05/2013 at 08:46