London (change)
Today 7°C / 2°C
Tomorrow 8°C / 7°C
6 messages
11/06/2012 at 18:43

Hi

I'm new to growing my own food and greenhouse problems, and would like to ask about gravel trays.

I got some growbag trays,  filled them with gravel and stood my tomatoes in pots in the tray. Now I've notice that the gravel is going green. I can understand why, the moist warm environment has encourage an algea growth on the gravel. Just want to know if this is okay for the tomato plants and is there anything I can do about it? Or do I just ignore it?

Thanks in advance

11/06/2012 at 22:49

I would say its ok, not alot you can do now anyway its there. Keep your greenhouse well ventilated. I dont shut my greenhouse when overnight temperatures are 15c or  more. Its only 5c with us at the moment in the Scottish Highlands so not leaving mine open for a while yet. But see what others think too

11/06/2012 at 23:06

I agree with weejenny. It might also help to try and keep the humidity down. I pour my grey water on the floor of the GH, I've a gravel path down the centre which is regularly doused down with water, if you use washing up water, just make sure any food in the water isn't poured out as this would encourage vermin.

12/06/2012 at 02:14

Zoomer, I don't understand your post.  You suggest keeping the humidity down by pouring water all over the place?

12/06/2012 at 10:31

I think we are talking two different things here, like Zoomer I run water over the pave walkway in the greenhouse for humidity when the weather is hot, I also keep several cans full of water warming up to water the plants next day. That is also for humidity which is needed for most greenhouse plants.