Forum home Problem solving
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Leggy Privet

Hi guys, I'm a newbie here so first and foremost hello to you all. I have just bought a new home in Dumfries and Galloway and have inherited a lovelyimage leggy privet hedge. The garden had been left for years and was totally overgrown. I have been doing some research about regenerating privet and beech hedges (yes, I have a rather looking sad beech hedge tooimage) and before I set to the hedge and prune back hard I want to make sure that I'll be doing the right thing. I've read that privet are very hardy and that it is possible to take it right back to a few feet from ground level and it will grow back thicker and fill out to a more lush hedge giving me a kinda 'privacy' hedge (which is what I'm after). I'm sure one of you experts can point me in the right direction. As you can see fromt he photo it's prety tall..

Hope one of you guys can give me some advice.image

• sotongeoffsotongeoff Posts: 9,802

Hello Vonski

Yes -you will struggle to kill a privet and it responds to hard pruning -I would chop that back to half its current height no problem-and rather satisfying to bootimage

• LynLyn Posts: 23,190
    I agree with Geoff, but it looks like it's the other side of the barbed wire so is it yours to cut down.
    Gardening on the wild, windy west side of Dartmoor. 

• jo4eyesjo4eyes Posts: 2,058

Yes they cope well with quite hard pruning.

I do a large overhanging privet tree pretty hard every other March & it comes back fine.

They are used as hedging along a busy dual carriageway near here. They have been cut back quite severely in the past & it still looks good.