London (change)
Today 11°C / 3°C
Tomorrow 7°C / 3°C
10 messages
07/05/2014 at 12:36

hello,

I am a beginner gardener and have grown some courgette plants from seed. I have just noticed that some of the older leaves have tiny bright yellow perfectly circular spots on them. The variety is Courgette 'Firenze' F1 Hybrid.

http://s3.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/45060.jpeg?width=276&height=350&mode=max

http://s3.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/45061.jpeg?width=276&height=350&mode=max

After researching lots of photos on the internet I thought instead of self diagnosing the problem it may be best to ask experienced gardeners before I do anything rash.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated as I would like to save these plants if I can, but I don't want to risk spreading disease to any of my other veggie plants.

*I have attached a couple photos of my plants to reference.

07/05/2014 at 13:00

Hi Meredith 

I don't think it's a problem - it's just a thing that some courgettes do.  I usually grow yellow courgettes as well as green ones and they have even more yellow blotches on their leaves. 

In fact those look like lovely healthy plants - ready to plant out into a bed if you can give them frost protection,  or bigger pots so that you can move them into shelter if a frost is forecast.

08/05/2014 at 11:54

Thanks for the reply and advise Dovefromabove. I've planted them out and will see how they do. I was just a bit worried that it might have been a fungus or other disease. Looking forward to some yummy courgettes in a couple months!

08/05/2014 at 12:59

They look pretty good other than your worry, so best to give them a chance. If you have space you could plant another as insurance?

08/05/2014 at 14:37
Maybe the leaves are mimicking butterfly eggs?
08/05/2014 at 22:30