London (change)
Today 11°C / 10°C
Tomorrow 13°C / 9°C
4 messages
Edd
18/03/2014 at 22:55

Hi.

This is my first year making (and growing in) paper pots. I love the thought of this and as a, skinflint have tried it now. 

I bought my first seed compost, EVER!  (wilko £4 for 80Lt, half price) it was all i could carry in one go.

Now i know from previous posts on here, that paper produces mycelium, but i did not realise how fast they grew in it. When i put my new seeds and pots into a plastic bag, (mini) propagator on a window sill, just a plastic bag! 

The seeds have just started to germinate after 9 days ( they were very tiny seeds )

but the paper is starting to spread mould into the center of the pots.

As most know i am a big fan of mycelium/fungi and moss and i know how hungry they can be.

The question is? Will they try to feed off the seeds in the pot??? 

This is a new situation for me and did not expect the fast mycelium growth in the bags. ( no matter how much i love it)

Anyhow here is the photo of the boxes. Designed by me, for window sills and the ones i am using at the moment are half the size (only 6 cells instead of 12)

http://s3.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/39808.jpg?width=350

I used 12" pizza boxes for the base (modified). I have to admit i did not waterproof the base on the first few. (that was a mistake). I now line the base with cling film. and find them most useful.

Will the mould take over like i know it will, or will the seeds survive, once i take the bag off. 

Anyone have any experience of paper pot mould, please???

Kind regards

Edd.

19/03/2014 at 11:43

My only experience of paper pots was that they were very slow to rot when finally planted in the open ground, so I used to cut them down opposite sides with scissors before planting, so that the roots could get out.

Lyn
19/03/2014 at 16:30