London (change)
Today 18°C / 15°C
Tomorrow 21°C / 15°C
15 messages
07/05/2014 at 18:01

Hi All, 

The other day I had loads of aphids on my pear tree, I sprayed it with washing up liquid solution as I normally do.  The good news when I have checked today is that all the aphids have gone, the bad news is I now have black leaves and lots of the flowers stalks ie fruit buds to be have fallen off.......I guess I won't be making as much pear chutney this year 

Please see photos below, is to my fault, is it normal for so many buds to drop off (I can't remember from the previous 2 years!) or is it diseased?

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/45087.jpg?width=276&height=350&mode=max

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/45088.jpg?width=276&height=350&mode=max

07/05/2014 at 21:52

Sorry OL, I don't know, but I thought I'd bump it up for you.

07/05/2014 at 21:55

Thanks Lily 

07/05/2014 at 22:02

I'm not an expert - but in the photo it only looks like the new leaves are affected- which makes me think it isn't a pest, but more likely a reaction to the spraying. Was it sunny when you did it - almost looks like the leaves have been scorched, which might have happened if the sun shone on water droplets.  They can always afford to lose a few flower buds, if there are still a few left on the tree you might be ok.  Fingers crossed

07/05/2014 at 22:51

Hello. Did you spray the tree just before that nasty frost the other night?

Lots of plants got caught out and had the tips of their leaves nipped. My plum trees got frosted, including all the fruit buds, which are now dropping off. 

The buds could have dropped off because they didn't get pollinated. That is quite usual and not a bad thing really, if it happens in moderation. A tree can't keep all the fruit that might arise from all the blossom it makes, so it naturally drops some of them.