London (change)
Sat 14°C / 11°C
Tomorrow 11°C / 2°C
1 to 20 of 33 messages
02/06/2014 at 10:59

Hello,

I am a beginner in terms of gardening but enjoy it immensely and am new to this forum so grateful for any help and advice.

I love roses and have planted three or four types in my garden. The white roses often end up with black spots on the leaves.

I also have some beautiful red roses which have just started blooming, but they have white spots on them and look pretty awful. 

I have no idea what us causing the problems or how to treat them so any advice would be most grateful. 

I've attached a couple of photos.

Thanks

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/47840.jpg?width=523&height=350&mode=max

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/47841.jpg?width=523&height=350&mode=max

02/06/2014 at 11:34

Hello, Bev.....welcome to the forum.

The 'white spots' you speak of, is mildew. A fungal disease  that  is very common in roses I'm afraid.

Treatment? You'll need to spray with something like 'Rose Clear'.

The reasons your rose blooms may look a tad sad, is because of rain damage......it's always like this with big blousy blooms so it's a good idea to gently shake the water out of them after rain.

02/06/2014 at 11:46

Hi Dave,

Thank you so much for the welcome and advice.

I will make sure I get the spray today. 

A lot of my friends have memories of gardening with their parents / grandparents, but unfortunately I wasn't fortunate enough to have that experience. My 10 year old daughter loves helping me out in the garden so we are on this wonderful journey together.

Again, many thanks for your advice.

02/06/2014 at 12:19

"A lot of my friends have memories of gardening with their parents / grandparents, but unfortunately I wasn't fortunate enough to have that experience."

Yes, this is often the way of it.....gardening with parents/grandparents I mean.