London (change)
Today °C / °C
Tomorrow °C / °C
16 messages
04/06/2014 at 16:21

Hello,

I am a complete novice so please kindly bare with me. Basically we had a lot of weeds in the kitchen garden when I moved in 2 years back and hence last year I removed all of them manually and as an ornamental feature and hoping weeds don't return covered it with slate chippings from B&Q around an inch and half thick across a 4mx1m kitchen garden.

Roll on 9 months and the slate chippings are completely covered in weeds again and looks like a mess. I wanted advise on how best to go around a) killing the weeds to the roots and if possible giving the existence of all the slate chippings. b) how i can avoid the problem coming back.

Thanks in advance for reading and the assistance!

04/06/2014 at 16:46

Icekul.........you don't say whether you laid any weed suppressing membrane before you put down your chippings ?  It is often a good idea as it does help to suppress the annoying annual weeds to a great extent.

However, in my experience, it doesn't always do a lot for the more pernicious perennial weeds.

You can always spray the entire area with a proprietary weedkiller but you may find yourself doing that on a regular basis and many people don't like to use chemicals on their garden at all.

4m x 1m ?..........maybe not too big an area to remove your chippings and start again ?

I am sure there will be others along soon who can better  advise you but I wish you luck anyway........it's always really disappointing when you think you have cracked it and turns out you haven't...........happens to all of us.......novices or not

04/06/2014 at 17:00

Weeds will turn up whatever you do. A weed suppressing membrane would help, but weeds will still appear. I would use weedkiller every few months to keep it looking nice.

04/06/2014 at 17:04